Notes de chevet

In collaboration with
Compagnie musicale La nef

Claire Gignac: artistic direction, flutes, dizi (Chinese bamboo flute), bowed psalteries soprano, tenor and bass, voice.

Patrick Graham: multi-percussion, frame drums,taiko, gongs, porcelain bowls

Tomomi Morimoto: choreographer and dancer

Jean René: viola and guitar

Frédéric Auger: sound design and real-time sound processing

Projetblanc / Louis-Xavier Gagnon-Lebrun: lighting design

Premiere: 2010
Length: 60-minute

2010. 09 Festival Transatlantique Montréal - Quartiers Danses / Montreal, QC
2011.04 Conseil des arts de Montréal en tournée / Montreal, QC


Inspired by Makura no sōshi (The Pillow Book) by Lady Sei Shōnagon (Japan, around the year 1000), this show offers a real interaction between music, dance and poetry. Composition and improvisation are brought together to create original music influenced by Japanese aesthetics. Through different approaches - electronic, electric and acoustic - contemporary choreography and poetry alternate, intercalate and blend to create a unique three-dimensional production.

Stacks Image 334
Stacks Image 403
Stacks Image 385
Stacks Image 387
Stacks Image 389
Stacks Image 391